Writing 101 – Day 15: Your Voice Will Find You

Today’s Prompt: Think about an event you’ve attended and loved. Your hometown’s annual fair. That life-changing music festival. A conference that shifted your worldview. Imagine you’re told it will be cancelled forever or taken over by an evil corporate force.

How does that make you feel?

Today’s twist: While writing this post, focus again on your own voice. Pay attention to your word choice, tone, and rhythm. Read each sentence aloud multiple times, making edits as you read through. Before you hit “Publish,” read your entire piece out loud to ensure it sounds like you.

😄😄 PLEASE BE AWARE THIS IS FICTION, AND HASN’T ACTUALLY HAPPENED!

My favourite annual event I love to attend is the Writers’ Festival in my home town.

It runs over a week, and is packed with all sorts of Author talks from local to international writers across all different genres. On Saturday and Sunday, there are kids workshops and a huge red story tent. It is FREE to attend, which makes it very accessible to all.

It’s so great to support Authors and the event by purchasing books for me and my family, and have them signed by the visiting authors. I have learnt so much, and have been inspired by many wonderful writers. What is more thrilling to a new writer than this? Well, not much! I could almost say it gives chocolate a run for its money!

You can imagine my utter shock when they announced that due to funding issues, they have cancelled the festival indefinitely, until they can find more sponsors.

I decided to write to the CEO of the festival, expressing my immense disappointment, for something that I believe to be very important to the community. What will happen to our children if they don’t experience life changing events such as these? Will we become an illiterate society? And what can I do to help in any way to continue this very successful event.

She responded that the best course of action would be to write the local council and contact our local Writers Centre to round up support, and see if they could start a Facebook page, so people can show support for the festival.

As many of you know I’m not a Facebook user, but in this instance, I would definitely sign up!

Leave a Reply

