Writing 101 Day 6 & 8 Combined! A Real Fairy

Day 6 Prompt: Who’s the most interesting person (or people) you’ve met this year?

Today’s twist: Turn your post into a character study.

Day 8 Prompt: Go to a local café, park, or public place and write a piece inspired by something you see. Get detailed: leave no nuance behind.

Thoughtful writers create meaning by choosing precise words to create vivid pictures in the reader’s mind. As you strive to create strong imagery, show your readers what’s going on; avoid telling them.

Today’s twist: write an adverb-free post. 

I think  this covers Day 6 & 8, so I’m going with it! I am not sure I’ve nailed the requirements on adverb overuse, however.

Kind feedback is welcome! 

Lady Fairy 

 Immediately I heard a sweet, feminine voice behind the counter of the glass studio we visited this morning. Her hazel green eyes shone, as she attended to her customers. I could tell she enjoyed connecting with people.

As my daughter and I perused all the beautiful handmade jewellery, it began to rain. I thought, the longer I stay in here, the more likely I’ll purchase something!

‘Oh dear, it’s getting heavier now’. She said, as I was thinking the same.

‘I love these earrings.’ I said.

‘They are lovely, aren’t they? All items are locally made by a female artist. And if you make a purchase with cash, you can have 3 for the price of one.’ She said.

After wandering around, we decided on 3 pairs of bright marine blue and green colours.

‘Oh lovely, I’ll put them into gift boxes.’ She said.

‘I don’t suppose you believe in fairies, anymore?’ She asked my daughter.

‘Yes, I do.’ My daughter replied.

‘I still do, and I write about them too’. I smiled.

‘That’s great, I still believe, in fact I see them in the forests around here.’ She smiled at my daughter.

‘The best place to see them is at The Knoll. It’s not far from here, just follow the signs, which lead you to a magical hollow tree. It’s a lovely walk.’

Coming away I felt like she had waved a wand. The sun shone and burnt the clouds away, ready for our walk in the rainforest.

One thought on “Writing 101 Day 6 & 8 Combined! A Real Fairy

Leave a Reply

