Writing 101 – Day 2 – A Room With a View

Today’s challenge, choose a place to which you’d like to be transported if you could — and tell us the backstory. How does this specific location affect you? Is it somewhere you’ve been, luring you with the power of nostalgia, or a place you’re aching to explore for the first time?

Today’s twist: organize your post around the description of a setting.

A log cabin in the Australian wilderness. My future self.

An oversized armchair in the corner, the light streaming in and warming the space. My two Irish Wolfhounds sit by the fire.

A beautiful, wooden hand carved desk sits opposite with an old fashioned lamp, lights the writing space.

I am relaxed, content and happy to be writing with wild abandon, and want for nothing more than a pot of tea and some scones and blackberry jam.

The seasons change and with them I observe the subtleties with delight. Taking them in and savouring them.

Then as I pause and let each scene wash over me, I write them into my book of poems.

Faerie folk of the forest would come and go to check on me, and animals are always welcome.

I would be at one with nature, the ancient landscape would eventually take me into her arms.

10 thoughts on “Writing 101 – Day 2 – A Room With a View

  1. Jan Cook says:

    Atop a sheltered sand dune, the vista of azure seas tumbling onto golden sands, white foamy tops leaving soft bubbles and some bobbing surfers just off shore. My pen poised to embark on this majestic moment.

Leave a Reply

