‘I’m going outside to brave the elements and pick some peas!’ The importance of observation

The original quote was inspired from a real life moment, and then I built it into the story.

It was a wild & wintry day and I said to my daughter (4 years old at the time) , ‘ I’m just going outside to brave the elements and pick some spinach.’

Later that day, she told me she thought I said I was going to ‘brave the elephants, and pick their spinach!’

After laughing so hard, my sides ached, I quickly grabbed whatever notepad was close by, storing this for future reference. I knew I could use it someday, somewhere. Kids are great like that, aren’t they? Natural comedians.

This is the perfect example of why it is important to observe the every day events (little gems, I call them) that fill our lives and record them before they vanish, and are forgotten.

These illustrations are just spot on. The colours are so vibrant and fun, I feel I’m just part of the crazy flea circus.

What do you think of the story so far? Drop me a message. I would love to hear from you.

20141011-225016-82216523.jpg

3 thoughts on “‘I’m going outside to brave the elements and pick some peas!’ The importance of observation

  1. Kylie says:

    When we lived in the cold South East we would put the snake like draft stopper on the floor in front of the door. We seemed to always be repeating to our kids ‘quick put the snake by the door so the drafts don’t come in’. What our son heard, which we discovered many years later, was ‘quick put the snake by the door so the giraffes don’t come in’. He spent many years wondering where the giraffes were?
    I love the concept of this book and the wonderfully imaginative illustrations.

Leave a Reply

